Barely Missing Everything – by Matt Mendez (Hardcover) Buy



$post_title

Barely Missing Everything – by Matt Mendez Description:



Barely Missing Everything There are moments when a story shakes you…Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories and Mendez a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape. –Jason Reynolds New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña this heartbreaking no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you–your life brown lives–dont matter. Juan has plans. Hes going to get out of El Paso Texas on a basketball scholarship and make something of himself–or at least find something better than his mom Fabis cruddy apartment her string of loser boyfriends and a dead dad. Basketball is going to be his ticket out his ticket up. He just needs to make it happen. His best friend JD has plans too. Hes going to be a filmmaker one day like Quinten Tarantino or Guillermo del Toro (NOT Steven Spielberg). Hes got a camera and hes got passion–what else could he need? Fabi doesnt have a plan anymore. When you get pregnant at sixteen and have been stuck bartending to make ends meet for the past seventeen years you realize plans dont always pan out and that there some things you just cant plan for… Like Juans run-in with the police like a sprained ankle and a tanking math grade that will likely ruin his chance at a scholarship. Like JD causing the implosion of his family. Like letters from a man named Mando on death row. Like finding out this man could be the father your mother said was dead. Soon Juan and JD are embarking on a Thelma and Louise–like road trip to visit Mando. Juan will finally meet his dad JD has a perfect subject for his documentary and Fabi is desperate to stop them. But as we already know there are some things you just cant plan for… Barely Missing Everything – by Matt Mendez