Juana and Lucas – by Juana Medina (Paperback) Price



$post_title

Juana and Lucas – by Juana Medina Description:



Juana and Lucas Medinas beautiful vivid prose conjures the Colombian setting with tactile language…Juanas narration is also peppered with easy-to-figure-out Spanish words. –The New York Times Book Review Through this strong adventurous and smart female protagonist Medina presents an extraordinary story about the many opportunities learning a new language can bring. Full-color illustrations provide excellent depictions of Juanas life in Bogotá and allow readers to connect with her character and culture. The artwork playfully interacts with dynamic text which often arcs across the page employs large fonts for emphasis and smoothly incorporates Spanish words. Fans of Judy Moody and Lola Levine will absolutely love Juana. This upbeat new series for young readers is a must-buy. –Booklist (starred review) As both author and illustrator Medina is able to integrate the text and illustrations in unique ways including spreads in which Juana tells us why for example she strongly dislikes her school uniform or why Mami is the most important person in her life. Font design is also used creatively such as when Medina traces the arc of a soccer ball hit hard enough to be sent across the field. An essential selection that creates multicultural awareness has distinguished and appealing design elements and has a text that is the stuff of true literature. –School Library Journal (starred review) Both comfortably familiar (this will be an easy sell for fans of Pennypackers Clementine for instance) and keenly specific in its setting and characters Juana and Lucas is much needed for the gap it fills in American childrens literature but it will be much beloved for its warmly depicted family relationships eminently read-aloud- able high jinks and sunny protagonist. –Horn Book (starred review) Told from Juanas point of view with humor and drama using capitalized words periods separating words for emphasis and a good sprinkling of Spanish words throughout the book makes clear theres a universality to Juanas story. The ink-and-watercolor cartoon-style illustrations are charming…The real gift of this book comes from presenting a different point of reference to American children who hear only stories of poverty and need coming out of South America. –Kirkus Reviews A Colombian girl takes on her greatest challenge–the English language–in this cheery series opener…Medinas loose full-color cartoons and interspersed profiles of the people in Juanas life add to the overall playfulness of the story. Its an inviting look at life in Colombia and readers will probably be struck by just how much they have in common with Juana. –Publishers Weekly Juana is certain to join spunky spirited independent young girls like Judy Moody Junie B. Jones and Clementine as a beginning chapter book favorite character. A twist on the value of learning multiple languages from a non-American perspective is welcomed. –School Library Connection This delightful easy chapter book has much to rmend it: a lively and likable child narrator (entirely credible in her ambivalence about scholastic endeavors) a strong plot trajectory and quick pacing (and a page count that will pass muster with reluctant readers) and a generous number of engaging illustrations that will be in color in the finished book…Both edifying and entertaining this solid title is a winner. –Bulletin of the Center for Childrens Books The author-illustrator grew up in Colombia and draws on fond memories to lend energy and heart to the many vignettes. Juana expands a sometimes limited view of South America. –San Francisco Chronicle Juana and Lucas is the kind of book Id like to see a lot more of. –A Fuse #8 Production (blog) Juana and Lucas – by Juana Medina